Universities, Institutions, Colleges and Schools Awarding Veterinary Degrees


Perth Australia


Murdoch University, School of Veterinary and Biomedical Sciences

Recognition status :

AVBC Australian Veterinary Boards Council Inc.
AVMA American Veterinary Medical Association
CVMA Canadian Veterinary Medical Association
RCVS Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons
VCNZ Veterinary Council of New Zealand

Degrees :


The School is home to the Veterinary Science course, the Biomedical Science course, the Animal Science course and the Health and Environment course. There are many postgraduate study opportunities through our Office of Continuing Veterinary Education and the Master of Veterinary Science, as well as research opportunities, particularly in the area of the School's research strengths in Biomolecular Control of Disease, Production Animals and Clinical Sciences. International students are accepted into the various programmes. The Murdoch University Veterinary Trust was established in 1997 and is independently administered. Its goals are to provide resources important for the long-term quality of the teaching programme and research efforts of the School of Veterinary Biomedical Sciences. Veterinary Science is a five-year double degree designed to impart the knowledge and skills necessary for the diagnosis, treatment and prevention of disease and production problems in pets, farm animals, wildlife and laboratory animals. Veterinary graduates are members of a major health profession that has its own system of education, registration, organisation and ethics. The first degree of Bachelor of Science (BSc) in Veterinary Biology is awarded upon satisfactory completion of the first two and a half years of the Veterinary curriculum of predominantly pre- and para-clinical study. The second degree of Bachelor of Veterinary Medicine and Surgery (BVMS), with Merit Honours based on academic performance, is awarded after a further two and a half years of predominantly clinical study.